Album Review: Coldplay’s “Ghost Stories”

Hey music lovers,

Ever wonder what albums are worth listening to? I have one that I’ve been DYING to share with you.

This is by far one of Coldplay’s best albums. What I love about this album is that it adds new sounds to the old Coldplay sound they have to create something new. Coldplay relies on new technology in this album, with some upbeat songs, along with slow, smooth-sounding songs.

The album opens up with the song “Always In My Head”. I wouldn’t expect this song to lead the album off, because I thought that the band would choose a more upbeat song, to enter in with a “BANG” effect. However, I really like this song because of the lyrics. It reminds me of when you are in love; how you think of someone constantly, and you can’t sleep because of it. The second song of the album is the first single called “Magic”. This song I cannot get out of my head, mostly because of the beat and the lyrics. Again, a song about love and how it sparks up the magic between two people. If you don’t believe in magic, you will after listening to this song.

“A Sky Full of Stars” is Coldplay’s second and latest single off the album. This song incorporates a lot of new sounds, creating more of a dubstep sound that is upbeat and is one that you can dance to. I like this song because it’s still Coldplay, but on an all-new level. I can see this song getting big, because it is memorable and exciting to listen to.

A song that I can see being a potential single is the song “Ink”. This song adds new bongo sounds with the guitar playing a major role. This song is a little slower than “A Sky Full of Stars”, however, it is a love song about being lost into someone permanently, like ink. Both of them last forever, and there is no going back, so by having this analogy, it makes the song very strong and enjoyable to listen to.

One song that I could live without is the song ‘True Love”. This isn’t a bad song, but it is a very slow song. This song is one that puts me to sleep; yet it is beautiful all at the same time. Lead singer Chris Martin really makes this song what it is with his vocals. Martin expands his vocals on so many levels in this song, reaching the high pitches very well. For me, it is just too slow, and I feel like if the beat was a little faster, then the song would stand out to me more.

Overall, this is a fantastic album to listen to. You listen to it once, and you’re hooked. I would recommend this album to anyone who is a Coldplay fanatic, and even if you aren’t one, you will be one after you give “Ghost Stories” a listen.

So until next time, dance, live, and love music.

AK

About alyssakate13

I have a love for social media, music and creativity. Motto to live by: "Ride the wave".
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

