Music Saves Us

Music Saves Us

Hey music lovers. Have you ever had one of those days where you need to escape? Where you crumble yourself up into a tiny ball, wishing you could stay there forever? Or get so frustrated with everything you just need to escape life for a few hours or even days by traveling somewhere? We all have our days and handle them differently, but if there is one thing that saves us more than anything, it is music.

Sometimes we need those escapes, and no matter what mood we are in there is always a song that defines us in that moment. Usually in these moments, I drive somewhere, anywhere to escape from the normalcy of life. When in a sad mood, I listen to sad songs like “Fix You” by Coldplay or “Skinny Love” by Birdy. I look for the songs I can connect with, and usually cry with. If I’m angry, I won’t turn the radio on for a while. Instead, I roll my window down in my car and listen to the breeze, the cars passing by me, and the stillness of life. It isn’t until I’ve done this for almost an hour do I turn on the radio to try to find a song that will lift me up. It could be as simple as Taylor Swift’s “Red” or Sammy Adams’ “Jump”. Screaming these songs at the top of your lungs, no matter what sad song or lift me up song can change your mood completely. You’ll be surprised as to how much you smile after singing and sometimes screaming, that you may forget why you were upset in the first place.

Yet we all need to go back to reality at some point in our lives, and as we adventure on back, we never forget that even though people come in and out of our lives, music will always have our backs. Music is always there when we need it, and that is something we can always rely on.

So until next time, dance, live, and love music.

AK

About alyssakate13

I have a love for social media, music and creativity. Motto to live by: "Ride the wave".
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

