You’re Gonna Want To Save Up For This!

You're Gonna Want To Save Up For This!

Hey music lovers. So I found this via one of my friends, and I just had to share it with you. Have you ever found yourself lost in a record store or in the music isle of Target? I know I have. And it’s nothing to be ashamed of either! I have so many in my car, my friends think it’s a bad thing, but there’s a record for everything. There’s the head banging, angry Nine Inch Nails, Mac Miller, or Macklemore, or even Drake when in the rapping mood, there’s T-Swift for all the spontaneous car ride adventures, The Band Perry to bring out your country roots, and One Direction for every inner fan girl obsession. And let’s not forget the throwbacks of the early Lifehouse, Goo Goo Dolls, and Matchbox Twenty (I mean it is Throwback Thursday after all). But there is a record for everything, you just have to dig sometimes to find it.

I spend hours on end looking at old, new, different music in the stores, and find something new. That’s what we have to do with music sometimes. Music is always changing and it creates a whole new experience for us.

When in a huge record store, you have to look at everything. I always like to challenge myself by picking a record that I normally wouldn’t listen to, and listen to it. Try a few songs, and if you don’t like it, then chuck it! But it could be something that you fall in love with and a new obsession is created. If I already know what record I want to buy instantly, like Coldplay’s “Ghost Stories” which is expected to be released on May 19th.

Spend your money on the wonders of music, not the usual. It’s okay to treat yourself to the music that surrounds you every once in a while (if it becomes a daily task you might have a problem and may want to see someone about that). But there’s just something about having the actual record in your hands, a tangible item in your grasp that makes music all that much more powerful. It’s like when people say there’s something about holding a book and flipping through the pages, that by having the actual record not only do you have the lyrics in hand to show off to your friends, but you learn so much about the album art and the artist my having the record on hand.

So instead of getting all your music off iTunes (which isn’t a bad thing I promise) try a record. Read the album covers, look at the design of the disk and the cover art, and read it. Learn from it, and see if the record works for you.

So until next time, dance, live, and love music.

AK

About alyssakate13

Travel addict. Always up for an adventure whether its near or far. Motto to live by: "Ride the wave".
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

